June 19, 2024, 7:52 am

Andre Russell returns to West Indies T20I squad to face England

Staff Reporter
Published: Sunday, December 10, 2023
Andre Russell returns to West Indies T20I squad to face England

West Indies have selected 15 players for the first three of five home Twenty20 Internationals against England, with Andre Russell making his long-awaited return.

Russell last appeared in West Indies colors at the T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates and Oman in 2021, where he scored almost 8,000 runs with a strike rate of 167 remaining in the T20 competition.

He is considered a great of the small form of the game.
New to the squad is Matthew Forde, who added to his recent success in the domestic T20 season with a strong performance in the recent One-Day International Series against England.

Sherfane Rutherford has also been called up, as has spinner Gudakesh Motie who is recovering from an injury that kept him out of the India series.

The West Indies claimed a 3-2 T20I series win when India visited in August, though the inclusions for the England series mean that Johnson Charles, Obed McCoy, Odean Smith, Oshane Thomas, who all featured in the successful series, miss out.

Shai Hope has been named vice-captain of the T20I team to deputize Rovman Powell, adding to his role as captain of the West Indies ODI team..

Speaking on the composition of the squad, lead selector Desmond Haynes said the series is the perfect chance to look ahead to the T20 World Cup, which they co-host with the United States.

“We have selected a squad that we think gives us the best chance of success in that tournament.

“We will continue to assess in the lead up to the competition.”

Adjustments to the squad may be made ahead of the fourth and fifth T20Is held in Trinidad on December 19 and 21.

West Indies squad: Rovman Powell (Captain), Shai Hope (Vice-Captain), Roston Chase, Matthew Forde, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd

West Indies v England T20I series schedule

  • 1st T20I: 12 December, Kensington Oval, Barbados
  • 2nd T20I: 14 December, National Stadium, Grenada
  • 3rd T20I: 16 December, National Stadium, Grenada
  • 4th T20I: 19 December, Brian Lara Academy, Trinidad
  • 5th T20I: 21 December, Brian Lara Academy, Trinidad

More News...